Spot-light on guest blogger.

shonafreshbeautyI’ve carried on emailing a few more of my favourite bloggers, and I decided to contact Shona from http://freshbeautyxox.blogspot.co.uk/, as she is such an inspiration to me, and loves everything beauty-wise…Just like me! She writes an amazing blog, and her posts always cheer me up, and if you ever need a cheer up, or some inspiration, then I would recommend going and checking out her blog!
1. Why did you start your blog, and did anyone inspire you?
Originally I made youtube videos in 2011 but I started to see blog links in the description boxes, I immediately loved the idea of it and started up a blog. At first it was just there to support my youtube, I found I could show swatches of products I reviewed via video on there. However my blog started to become distant from it and just before Christmas ’12 I deleted my youtube so now I can focus on my blog because I found that blogging was what I truly loved!
 
2. What do you do other than blogging?
I don’t really do much! Although this is mainly down to my medical conditions that are restricting me at the moment, this is something I talk about on my blog quite often. I do enjoy reading though and my latest obsession is Pinterest! I’m about to sound like a geek but I really enjoy maths as well- aha! Oh and I practically live on twitter…
 
3. What’s been the best experience that you’ve had during your time blogging?
100% my best experience is just getting to know so many amazing people! My life is now full of inspirational, kind and all round lovely bloggers who I am so grateful to have got to know! Also another fab experience was getting approached my Katys Cosmetics (katyscosmetics.co.uk), they asked me to be a posted/writer on their new beauty blog (http://www.katysblog.co.uk/blog/) and of course I said yes! I feel very privileged to have got that opportunity especially as my blog wasn’t very ‘big’ at the time. Now 5 months on I am so glad I accepted!
 
4. Do you have any people/things that inspire you?
A lot of bloggers inspire me, people like Sophia from Tattooed Tea Lady and also just a lot of people on twitter. I follow quite a few people who have the same medical conditions as me, particularly people with Scoliosis and seeing their stories and how they have had surgery and recovered well inspires me to keep on going!
 
5. What camera do you use?
I’ve used the same camera for about a year and a half now and its a pretty cheap one! I use the Canon Powershot A800 and its just a point and shoot camera, nothing flash. But with the right background and a bit of brightening images here and there you can make your photos look really professional! You don’t need to splash out on expensive cameras to achieve what you want.
 
6. How would you describe your style?
VERY casual! I don’t put much effort into what I wear. I always wear jeans without fail and I either wear a hoody or my warm chunky kit New Look Cardgian! I’m hoping to upgrade my style after my spinal operation this year, hopefully I’ll have the confidence to wear pretty dresses this summer!
 
7. What’s your favourite and essential item of clothing/accessory you think everyone should have?
Jeans. There are so many different types out there to flatter anyone of any shape and size and you can’t go wrong with a pair of jeans and a pretty top, or in my case a warm hoody!
 
8. Do you have any favourite designers?
I don’t, I never really keep up with fashion, due to my lack of interest in it! Over london fashion week I go bored with seeing all the posts and tweets about it- aha!
 
9. Which places do you often shop at?
You can always find me swatching products in Boots and Superdrug and another great place for beauty products is TkMaxx! I’ve seen brands like Covergirl, Milani, OPI and Essie in there, I got 4 Essie Nail Polishes for £10! For clothes I shop in New Look and Primark but I also like mooching around in charity shops, you can find some great things! Also I sometimes go down to my local vintage shop to see if I can find anything nice, the bags there are to die for!
 
10. If you could steal anyone’s wardrobe, who’s would you steal?
I usually go to bloggers for style inspiration and I love the outfits that Leanne Woodfull (http://thunderandthreads.blogspot.co.uk/ puts together! I’ve always liked a more quirky style but I don’t know if I’d ever have the confidence to pull if off! I love her vintage outfits as well, I’ve always loved proper vintage clothes from yonks ago and I’m thinking about wearing a vintage dress for my prom this year!
I was so happy when I found out that she had replied to my email, whilst scrolling through my inbox, and I hope you enjoyed this post, and have liked discovering a little more about Shona’s blog!
Bye-bye for now, and hopefully more shall come soon!
17 comments
  1. Merely wanna remark which you have a very nice web website , I enjoy the layout it really stands out.

  2. Some really choice posts on this web site , saved to my bookmarks .

  3. That is the precise blog for anybody who desires to search out out about this topic. You realize a lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a subject thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, just nice!

  4. Spot on with this write-up, I actually believe this website needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the advice.

  5. You are my inspiration, I own few web logs and often run out from post :). “He who controls the past commands the future. He who commands the future conquers the past.” by George Orwell.

  6. Excellent post. I definitely appreciate this website. Continue the good work!

  7. My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to going over your web page repeatedly.

  8. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who was conducting a little research on this. And he actually ordered me breakfast simply because I discovered it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss this matter here on your blog.

  9. I have the impression that the author is reading my mind. I agree with every word. Thoughtful text, written on the basis of authoritative information. Great graphics. Tkanks and good luck.

  10. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post! It’s the little changes that will make the most important changes. Thanks for sharing!

  11. It is truly a nice and helpful piece of info. I¡¦m glad that you just shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  12. I’d constantly want to be update on new posts on this web site, saved to my bookmarks!

Leave a Reply

