Spot-light on guest blogger.

Snapshot_20130130_5Laura from http://www.lisforladybird.com/ is such an inspiration for my blog, so I decided to contact her and ask to interview her…And I was so happy when I found that she said yes! Her blog is just amazing, and I would recommend popping straight over to her blog…After you’ve read this of course!;) Ha ha.
1.Why did you start your blog, and did anyone inspire you?
This is a bit of an unusual one actually. I’d been reading blogs for a good few months but it was one night when I was looking for hair inspiration that I found a blog of a girl who had the most amazing hair. I showed my boyfriend, Alex, who asked me what a ‘blog’ was. I told him and it was actually Alex that suggested I start my own and that was it. We spent the evening thinking of a name for my blog and he’s been my biggest fan ever since. I am of course joking but if it wasn’t for him, who knows whether I would have ever started my own blog and although ‘biggest fan’ may be a bit strong, he does continue to be super supportive and is constantly giving me ideas for posts and so on. I guess that makes him kind of inspiring but also if it wasn’t for the ‘big’ bloggers, I probably wouldn’t have established an interest enough to even be looking at blogs in the first place. I’m sure I don’t need to reel off a list, you know the sort.
 
2.What do you do other than blogging?
Other than blogging, I’m a Law student at Lancaster University and am currently in my second year of study. I’m a bit of a geek at heart but there’s always going to be room in my life for both law and lipstick.
 
3.What’s been the best experience that you’ve had during your time blogging?
I think everyone says this, but it’s honestly so true; the people within this community make the blogging experience the best. I’ve met so many lovely people since starting my blog and I’m even hoping to meet-meet them in the near future. I’ve also been given so many great opportunities from working with companies to dabbling with technology that I didn’t even know existed beforehand. All of it has been one long great experience and I hope it continues forever.
 
4.Do you have any people/things that inspire you?
Most definitely; firstly, massive amounts of inspiration can be taken from other blogs, from beauty products to items of clothing. Lifestyle posts are always giving me ideas of fun things to do and I’m even started to get into cooking and baking blogs too, to the point I may get my self a recipe book and start noting down things to give a go. Being a vegetarian can be a little boring sometimes in terms of eating the same old foods so that’s definitely going to spice things up a little bit. Was that a pun? I think so.
 
5.What camera do you use?
I’m really lazy so I use whatever I have to hand. Most the time it’s actually my phone but I also have a Fujifilm Finepix JX which I got a while back now and also an Olympus VG-160 which Alex very kindly bought for me while we were in Australia recently. The quality of the Olympus camera is by far the best and I really should start using it more for blogging. I’m also looking at getting an SLR camera but as I’m no camera expert, I need to look into this a little more first.
 
6.How would you describe your style?
I have a pretty eclectic style. On a day to day basis when I’m at uni I’ll just throw on something comfy. It’s always freezing there so warmth and comfort comes first but other than that, your guess is as good as mine. I love my leather jackets, I love patterned trousers. I bought some really fun, bright red ones from River Island just the other day and I can’t wait to give those an outing. In relation to my hair, I’m very much a top knot kind of girl. I’m really lazy with my hair so if it’s not on my head, I’ll just let it do what it wants. It’s got quite a nice, grungy wave to it so I quite like just giving it a quick brush then letting it be. So yes, I’m a bit mismatched when it comes to style. If i like it, I’ll wear it whether it matches or not. After all, fashion is about making YOU feel good.
 
7.What’s your favourite and essential item of clothing/accessory you think everyone should have?
Oh, gosh, this is a tricky one. I’m big on basics. As I mentioned, I love patterned trousers so I think plain basic tops are key. I love the neppy ones that Topshop sell. I’m not really an accessories person but I do love my watch. It’s a rose gold one by none other than michael kors, but I think that any watch adds something to an outfit. I always feel really sophisticated with a watch. Maybe it’s just me.
 
8.Do you have any favourite designers?
I’m a high street girl at heart but who doesn’t love a Mcqueen scarf? I wish I owned one. Really, really wish.
 
9.Which places do you often shop at?
I spend most of my pennies in Topshop. As I said, I love their basics so I’m always stocking up on those. I’ve also just bought some dungarees from there which I’d really recommend taking a look at. Back on topic, I’ve also been gravitating towards River Island more recently after a long period of abstinence from it, and the same with Primark. I often find little bits and pieces in Miss Selfridge and I’m always browsing Asos too. As a beauty lover, I also spend a great deal of time and money browsing boots and on feelunique.com.
 
10.If you could steal anyone’s wardrobe, who’s would you steal?
This is easy peasy- Gillian Zinser. She has that laid back, casual but quirky style that I go for. I take a lot of inspiration from her actually. In terms of bloggers, Maddie of http://maddie-elizabeth.blogspot.co.uk/. I like her style for the same reasons. She actually reminds me a lot of Gillian Zinser too. Her blog is running for a newcomer Company style award so it’d be really lovely if you’d visit her blog to find out more about that too.
I’m so grateful that Laura replied and gave such thoughtful and great answers, and it’s so nice to know a few more things about her! Keep your eyes out for more posts like this coming soon…!
6 comments
  1. I’m a extended time watcher and I just thought I’d drop by and say howdy there for your incredibly initial time.

  2. I feel this is among the such a lot important info for me. And i am satisfied studying your article. However want to remark on some general things, The site taste is great, the articles is truly nice : D. Excellent job, cheers

  3. Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site
    with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely
    enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will be
    tweeting this to my followers! Superb blog and brilliant design.

  4. I just like the valuable information you supply for your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.

    I’m slightly certain I’ll be informed many new stuff
    right right here! Good luck for the next!

  5. Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a information!
    present here at this webpage, thanks admin of this web site.

Leave a Reply

