Sundays: Rambles

130929-142730Hey lovelies! I don’t have much to say about my week, apart from the fact that I had a half day and inset day at school, and that I went to a little party thing. I don’t even have any webcam pictures to update you with, so today’s post will just be about an issue that I would like to discuss…

I was watching Fabulous Fashionistas over on Channel 4 (check it out omg, so inspiring!), and one woman was seeing if anyone from the fashion industry, or any fashion magazines, would take her in to do some modelling for them. Now, this woman was quite old, yes, but so very beautiful, and the fact that they were all saying the same types of things, ‘the fashion world wants a figure to aspire to, and the fashion world don’t want older people in their magazines, blablabla’, and I thought it was disgusting. I would love older woman in magazines that I read! I’d love to aspire to be a brilliant, wonderful woman when I’m older…And just look at Twiggy! She’s still going with her modelling, so why can’t any other older woman join in?! Especially as they were basically bringing this woman down, and in a way, offending her. (Well, I know that if I was in her shoes, I’d be offended!) I really do think that just being old, and growing old isn’t something to frown upon, and that it really isn’t something to be worried about, or to hate it. It’s just life, and all life is beautiful, and in the end, she only really wanted to ask if she could do the modelling, to see what people’s perception of older woman, and older people in general, were. It’s really nothing to be scared of, and I don’t understand it. Instead we choose to have airbrushed woman, who we apparently ‘aspire’ to be like on the front of our covers…I don’t know, it just annoys me…

What do you think? Do you agree, or disagree with me?

Tallulah xoxo

4 comments
  1. I loved that programme, age is just a number. Great post. Please can you take a look at my blog if you have time? Thanks xxx

  2. I watched that program too and the ladies were great! Very inspiring, did more exercise than me aha

    • Haha, I know, they were very fit, and it was truly inspirational!:’)xoxo

Leave a Reply

